Why are we voting? 

The South Dakota Cattlemen's Association is a grassroots organization that relies on participation of the members through their local affiliates and by electing representatives to serve on the state Board of Directors.

Last year the SDCA Leadership Taskforce reviewed the board structure and made recommendations to improve engagement leading to more robust discussion of issues and ultimately better policy reflective of the membership. At the 2021 Annual meeting of the South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, members voted to amend the bylaws to change the composition of the Board of Directors. The bylaws as amended state that the board shall be comprised of the immediate past president, the president, vice president, the vice president of membership, one representative from each council and two regional representatives from each of the five regions (western, northern, southern, northeastern, southeastern).  The regional representatives replace positions formerly held by affiliate representatives and regional vice presidents. 

The regional representatives shall be elected for a term of two years, with one representative from each region elected each year on a rotating basis. To establish this structure, the initial election from each region shall be for one term of one year and one term of two years. Members may be elected to serve as regional representatives for up to three consecutive terms. The initial election is being held electronically to allow all SDCA members the opportunity to vote for a regional representative prior to the next regular board meeting. The SDCA bylaws provide for future elections to take place at annual regional meetings. 

Ballot Details 

The regional representatives must be qualified, current members of the SDCA. 

Each region shall elect two regional representatives to the SDCA Board of Directors. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected to a two year term. The candidate receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected to a one year term. 

Voting Deadline 

Voting opens Monday, January 24, 2022

Voting closes Friday, February 4, 2022

Candidates - Click their region to read their biography's 

Southeast Region

Cory Eich, Canova, SD

Austin Havlik, Mt. Vernon, SD 

Pete Hanson, Fedora, SD 

Western Region

Britton Blair, Sturgis, SD

Myron Williams, Wall, SD

Devon Stephens, St. Onge, SD

Southern Region

Kory Bierle, Midland, SD 

Matt Jones 

Casey Heenan, Winner, SD

Northern Region

Jay Jones

Sal Roseland

Northeast Region 

Nick Wilkinson

John Moes

Drew Edlemen


Regional Map

Your region will also be located on the postcard that SDCA mailed out to all members for this voting period. Choose your region and vote below. 

regional map