About

Who We Are

Our Mission

Advance and protect the interests of all cattlemen by enhancing profitability through representation, promotion and information sharing.

Our Vision

To be a producer-oriented organization that consumers and producers rely on for factual information to enhance a profitable business climate and promote environmental stewardship.

Industry Advocates

Locally

SDCA is a grassroots organization consisting of 16 affiliates in five regions providing opportunities for members to be involved in their local communities. There are also three councils for specialized segments of the industry.

  • Cow/Calf Council
  • Feeder Council
  • Young Cattlemen's Council

Statewide

Each region and council elects representatives to the SDCA Board of Directors. These volunteer leaders are your voice at the state level. The members' policy is created through policy committee and voted on by membership at the SDCA Annual Meeting. The SDCA represents that policy to the legislature , state agencies, consumer groups, and media providing a statewide voice for today's beef producers.

Nationally

The SDCA works directly with our congressional delegation on federal issues that impact South Dakota cattlemen and women. Additionally, as an affiliate of the National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA), the SDCA is the voice for South Dakota producers on national issues that impact you and your business. Our affiliation with NCBA means you have a seat at the table and a vote in the national decision making. The NCBA Washington office is considered one of the most effective lobbying groups on the Hill. The Denver office has a team dedicated to research, communication, membership services, and beef promotion activities to support the state affiliates.

SDCA Leadership

The South Dakota Cattlemen's Association is a grassroots organization that relies on participation of the members through their local affiliates and by electing representatives to serve on the state Board of Directors.

The board is comprised of the immediate past president, the president, vice president, the vice president of membership, one representative from each council and two regional representatives from each of the five regions (western, northern, southern, northeastern, southeastern).

The regional representatives shall be elected for a term of two years, with one representative from each region elected each year on a rotating basis.

SDCA Officer Team

The South Dakota Cattlemen's Association officer team is made up of five individuals, the President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, Vice President of Membership and Past President.

Eric Jennings

PRESIDENT

Warren Symens

VICE PRESIDENT

Carl  Sanders 

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Craig Bieber

VICE PRESIDENT OF MEMBERSHIP

Regional Representatives

NORTHERN REGION

Jay Jones, 605-845-3082, jones@westriv.com
Sal Roseland, 605-216-0883, salroseland@gmail.com

NORTHEAST REGION

Drew Edleman, 605-881-2419, dwedleman86@gmail.com
Nick Wilkinson, 605-847-5080, wilkinsonn77@gmail.com

SOUTHEAST REGION

Cory Eich, 605-523-2577, ceich@triotel.net
Austin Havlik, 605-999-9245, ahavlik@firstdakota.com

SOUTHERN REGION

Casey Heenan, 605-842-3100, cheenan@winnercirclefeedyard.com
Kory Bierle, 605-843-2275, kry@gwtc.net

WESTERN REGION

Britton Blair, 605-347-0426, britton.blair@yahoo.com
Devin Stephens, 605-642 9769, dbstephens1984@gmail.com

Council Leadership

The Councils are made up of members with an interest in those segments of beef production. Council leaders serve on the SDCA Board of Directors and the Councils also host meetings and events pertaining to their area of specialty. Communications that are specific to these operations are also provided to council members when necessary.

Cow-Calf Council:

The SDCA Cow-Calf Council focuses on issues directly impacting cow-calf operators.

Chair: Jared Knock - Jared.Knock@gmail.com - 605-881-2375

Feeder Council:

The SDCA Feeder Council focuses on the special interests of feeders, particularly environmental regulations.

Chair: John Reisch - Reischfarms@alliancecom.net - 605-772-4396

Young Cattlemen of South Dakota Council:

The SDCA Young Cattlemen of South Dakota Council helps young producers connect through education and networking as well as leadership experience.

Chair: Emily Peterson - emily.webster@elanco.com - 515-443-4465

SDCA Staff

Taya Runyan

SDCA Executive Director
trunyan@sdcattlemen.org

Lorrin Naasz

Director of Communication & Outreach
lnaasz@sdcattlemen.org